2005-09-13 - 3:14 p.m.

There is nothing I can say about the devastation in the South. There are no words to describe how it sickened me to see all those faces, mostly black, mostly poor, stranded there, waiting to drown. There is nothing I can write to make a difference.

But I could bring bags of toiletries and diapers to Lincoln Center, where a couple of amazing men were loading trucks to drive to Biloxi. And I could pack up some boxes and send them to a church in Mississippi, close enough to have refugees, far enough to be low on the red cross priority list. For whatever that is worth.

As a NYer, here to witness 9-11, what I remember most of the aftermath was the overwhelming outpouring of love and support from all over the country. If you are a Times reader, (that's the NY Times, sorry) there was an article about the Village tile memorial this past Sunday. Tiles that people from all over the country painted and sent. So time to pay back, now. I was overwhelmed by the sheer volume of people waiting at those trucks. Two of them had signs by the time I got there, reading "NO MORE CLOTHES." Our hand me down clothes, new packages of socks and underwear, blankets, pillows, toothbrushes... will these make up for any of the loss? No. But the sentiment behind them will soothe souls.

And one thing I can say? That sorry, stinking excuse for a President should be run out of office. I don't care that it shouldn't be political. And neither do the people who sat on their roofs, watching and waiting until the waters overtook them.

We should be ashamed.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com