2001-05-02 - 1:27 p.m.

Yesterday morning, Seattle. It wasn't raining, we went to our favorite cafe for breakfast before starting the day, and arrived at our corporate offices right on schedule. We were models of efficiency, cranking through our meetings and getting to the airport in time to go standby on an earlier flight. I ended up back at Newark airport by 9:30 pm, to actually find my driver where he's supposed to be carrying an actual sign with my name on it, my bag came out in 5 minutes, and I was in my house by 10:15. Rarely do things go so smoothly.

And I came home to summer. It's summer here - it may reach 90 degrees today. And I realized that I should probably be living in a warmer climate. (just not in L.A. - anywhere but L.A. Sorry, Lightly) I feel like there are not nearly enough hours in the day to do all the things I want to do. I am actually almost giddy with anticipation, even on an ordinary day. Man. I went out to get lunch today, and was thinking about how directly the weather affects my moods. And then I was thinking that I sort of wallow in my rut during the winter. I sit on my ass in front of this computer all day long, ordering in breakfast and lunch. I don't even change my scenery while I eat - I read journals instead. Two meals a day at my desk - that's awful. Tomorrow I'm going to the gym in the morning, but Friday I'm having breakfast out. In my own neighborhood. Dammit. I realize it's up to me to change this - I just don't feel like I can until the sun comes out and it's warm. Barring a sudden move to Key West or some island, I better learn some coping skills. Or get a sun lamp. Anyway, I'll worry about that next winter.

I also miss P in this weather. We used to work in the same industry, and we'd meet up spontaneously on summer afternoons, for lunch in the park or a quick cigarette break in front of one of our buildings, or at the Mister Softee truck on Broadway for ice cream. Now he's changed his career, and is working downtown, and we no longer have those fly-by meetings.

Feels like it should be Friday already - my best friend is flying into NJ tomorrow night for some family stuff, and I may go out to see her - and this weekend I'm going to try to get in some girlie time, and some dog time, and hopefully a little going out time. Is it here yet?

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com