2001-05-03 - 12:16 p.m.

Last night, I turned the corner off Christopher Street to see Evan outside his store planting flowers, with another guy I recognize from the neighborhood. I stopped, and we bullshitted, and had some beers, and caught up with the neighbors. He knows absolutely everyone in the neighborhood, so we had a revolving open house, right there on the sidewalk. John (head of Project Crackwhore) came by, and the couple who own the leather shop, and the women who gave me the boiler violation info last winter, and my hairdresser. It was definitely one of those random evenings that I love in this city, chatting with the neighbors like we live in Mayberry.

But that other guy? The one I recognized? I'll call him Matt ~ he scared me, kind of. At first he was just making small talk, telling us how tough it was being a straight guy living in the West Village, that women assume he's gay and he can't get a date. So we laughed about it, and I told them that arguing over the care and feeding of the flowers was making them look like an old married couple, and not helping their reputation. Then he told us a story about a run-in he'd had with a guy the night before, who was apparently having a fight with his girlfriend that was looking violent. And as the evening wore on, I realized that Matt sees himself as a one-man army for quality of life on our block. Now, I can appreciate this on a lot of levels ~ I live alone, and I like feeling secure in my 'hood.

But I saw this guy in action last night, and he's just looking for trouble. There was a guy, in his 30's, sitting on a brick planter outside of Matt's building, smoking a cigarette. Matt started eyeing him up, the guy asked him what he was looking at, and pretty soon they're yelling and cursing and having a standoff. Ridiculous. Evan stepped in and ended it immediately, and Matt went on a rant about how this is his block, and he has every right to make sure there are no suspicious characters around. Give me a break, there, Rambo. This is New York. That guy can sit wherever he pleases, and he sure as shit doesn't have to answer to you. So I guess I know who to blame for all the arguments I hear in the middle of the night. That guy is a live wire, no question. And summer is coming.

Then I went home, and out to dinner at the bistro on the corner, since my boyfriend is going away for a long weekend. Then on to Absolutely 4th for a Stella, which turned into three as we talked to the new owner about the mid-life career crisis that brought him here. He was a chiropractor, living with his wife and kids in Westchester, with a private practice and a split level home and a Volvo station wagon. Then he lost his passion for his work, and ended up buying this bar. And moving his family to the Village, where, according to him, everyone is thriving and happy. I love to hear those stories, hear how people just up and change what isn't working. And it was gorgeous out, warm and clear, and we walked home and went to bed. Tonight my friend Jane is flying in, so I'm headed out to NJ to see her after work.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com