2001-06-04 - 3:43 p.m.

Have I mentioned how uninspiring my job is? Sitting in an ad meeting this morning, where our ad agency comes to present the latest campaign to us. I start the meeting with good intentions, coffee in hand, notebook and pen.... and I find myself unable to concentrate on the presentation, mind wandering around the room...

The owner of the ad agency is up front, reading the copy from the Fall 2001 ad campaign - and there I am:

Hmmmm, all he'd doing is reading copy. Everything he says is so OBVIOUS - maybe I should go into advertising, I can bullshit better than that. Those are kind of cool glasses he has on, though. He looks like someone famous, can't think of who. And that other guy... he's kind of cute. Looks like a Republican, though. Wonder if he's married. Wonder if I could date a guy like that. Probably not.

Ooohh, Mike's here. He's so tan - maybe he was on Fire Island this weekend. I keep meaning to invite him out with me and the boys, I really do like him and I think he feels a little alienated here. Love those mules Joyce is wearing. She always looks so good, so put together. I wonder if I remembered to pay my American Express bill? Better check that. Carrie is very obviously not paying attention. She's a VP, you'd think she'd at least PRETEND to care about this. Oh look, Karen. So good to see Karen, I love her. How long have I known her? Must be, oh, 10 years, since she lived with Peter...blah blah blah.

Seriously. This is my mind in a meeting. Glad you're not my employer, eh?

School. School is the answer. I need to go back. It's so hard, though. Hard to get motivated, hard to make the sacrifices. I always look at the big picture, and feel overwhelmed. I'm going to take a class, at NYU or the New School, in the Fall. One class. Baby steps. That's the secret - I have to just break it down into manageable steps, and not let myself get crazy about how I'll fit it in, how I'll afford it. Sigh. I need me a sugar daddy.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com