2001-06-19 - 12:43 p.m.

Strange how my eating habits change with the weather, without any conscious thought. I have always listened to my body in terms of food, have never had an emotional relationship with it. I pretty much eat whatever I feel like it, and only until I'm no longer hungry. I think that's the real secret to it - I don't eat an entire piece of cake because it tastes goods, I only eat it if I really want it. Anyway - I've been noticing my cravings change lately - I crave fruit in the mornings (UNHEARD OF - I'm ordinarily a bacon egg and cheese girl) and I've been wanting sushi weekly.

So last night I left work at a reasonable hour, went home and did some quick cleaning up, and headed to AKI with the boyfriend for dinner - only to find it closed. Monday night, dammit. So we ended up at Sushi Samba - new place opened on 7th Avenue, and I have to tell you, I was highly suspicious. Sushi Samba? I mean, really. But it was pretty good - not Japonica, but pretty good. We sat at the sushi bar and drank cold sake and ate. We also had the cutest waiter, who, when pointing me towards the ladies room, said "We have the coolest bathroom in the whole city!" So I go down there, and it's also pretty cool - single full door chamber stalls (unisex) in a big open room, with bronze sinks in barrels in the center. So while I'm down there, I'm running a mental list of all the cool bathrooms I can think of, because I know this one isn't the coolest, and I start thinking about the one with the rocks in the sink, and then I realize that I can't remember which restaurant that is. That's sad, really. Maybe I should be keeping a log of restaurants and their bathrooms. Or maybe I should start putting more day to day stuff in this journal. That's probably less freakish.

Anyway, we had dinner, then went to Caffe Dante for coffee, and my boyfriend ordered some nasty Italian digestivo. It was actually like a little preview of our trip, as the sidewalk cafe is always crowded with people drinking coffee, smoking, and speaking Italian. My kind of place, for sure. (the coffee and cigarette part, anyway. Not that those handsome dark Italian boys hurt)

We have definitely turned a corner in our relationship, since that night I started talking. It's all good, but kind of scary for me, which is why I'm not writing about it so much here. Some of my friends tell me that he's going to propose on this Tuscany trip, which I can tell you all for sure is not the case. He knows me well enough to know that that would send me running for the hills, screaming. But it will be some sort of test, although I'm refusing to see it as such.

And tonight I'm going to have my last city dinner with Beau. *sniff* I have some last minute gifts to buy, and then we'll go feed our faces and talk gardens. Although, once I get back from my trip, we'll be heading out to check out their new home - the boyfriends weekend house is only about half an hour from their place.

Not very exciting, but I'm a little distracted today - I have a manuscript length to-do list, which I refuse to write down, running through my head.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com