2001-06-20 - 2:42 p.m.

I went back to the gym last night. For the first time, in, oh, a month or so. My entire body is sore and stiff today. I knew I shouldn't go back. And the thing is, I have FUN at the gym. Not fun working out, but fun with P. I'm kind of lazy at the gym, if left to my own devices. I won't up my weights, and I won't do 100 crunches, and I probably won't do the shoulder machines, either. But with P, I have to. Because he's a drill sergeant. We don't take it too seriously, though, which probably doesn't go over so well with all the serious buff people, but whatever. I only joined the stupid gym because I had a little ass trauma when trying on bathing suits last spring.

Anyway, P alternates between pushing me, and looking at guys -

P: ok, do eight reps and CONCENTRATE

Me: (Pant, pant) Owwwww....

P: Oooh, look at that one..with the goatee

Me: He's straight

P: How do YOU know?

Me: He hit on me last time I was here.

P: Goddammit. I'm the single one, why can't he hit on me? Quit cheating, that wasn't eight.

At the mats, doing the dreaded crunches

Me: P. Seriously. I haven't been here in a month, I can't do any more

P: Yes you can -

Me: No, really

P: Fine, have a buddha belly hanging over your pants, I don't care.

Me: (grumbling under my breath) Ok.

P: Let's do the lift one - put your legs straighter.

No, straighter. (lifts my legs) Like an L

Me: (struggling)

P: An L, I said. Make yourself an L

P: (yelling now ) AN L!!! AN L!! Is that an L? NO! DON'T YOU KNOW WHAT AN L LOOKS LIKE?

Me: If you don't quit yelling at me right now I'm going to lift with the cute straight guy.

P: fine. let's do regular ones, then go get dinner.

At the weight bench, we're talking about, um, a certain kind of sexual accessory that can only be used by men.

Me: But what is it?

P: Well, it sort of ENHANCES (something something)

Me: I don't get it. How?

P: I don't know HOW. It just does.

Me: But how does it go on?

P explains.

Me: Wait, you mean you actually put it all through there?

P: Yeah

Me: Yikes. That's crazy. What happens when (something something) How do you get it off?

P: answers.

Me: I still don't really get it

P: (looking around) I don't think the gym is the place to be talking about this, do you?

Me: Uh. I guess not. I don't want to know anymore anyway.

Also, I spot him on the weight bench. You'd probably have to know me to know just how hysterical that is.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com