2001-07-18 - 11:37 a.m.

Last night I met my friend Michael, who wanted to see my vacation pictures,at the bar of a restaurant on my block, which has been giving me subliminal messages about watermelon margaritas. After we order our drinks, we notice a huge, tiered tray of glasses that look like fishbowls, and I call over the bartender to make sure she's not going to be serving my margarita in that giant thing. She assures me she's not, says that those are for a party they're having at 10pm - a Sex and the City party. I can only imagine the horror. And then they brought us the drinks - teeny little carafes resting on a bed of ice in a little steel bucket, and teeny little martini glasses with a curl of lime on the lip. Michael was horrified. "Look at these ridiculous BARBIE drinks. I can't even pick up this tiny stem." They were some seriously potent drinks though. So we finished our Barbie margaritas and then headed to the Dew Drop to sit outside and look at pictures, and I had a beer and a bunch of little cheeseburgers, which are much better in theory than they are in reality. I really, really wanted to go back to the Sex and the City party, just so I would have fodder for today's entry. But I mysteriously ended up on the couch in my pajamas, watching very bad television and cleaning out my disgusting purse. I must confess to a very bad TV viewing choice. Not bad in the way, say, Golden Girls reruns are. Bad, but kinda cool, those Golden Girls. Or bad Lifetime movies. Just, well, bad. Judging Amy. Am I the only person on the planet who watches this? I don't know ANYONE. But I don't care, I like it that these two strong women get all righteous on behalf of children and underdogs. I had a few Judging Trouble fantasies, don't think I didn't. Things would be much better around here if I were the judge. Ha.

I am a little stressed out about a new responsibility I have. The care of a plant, while my office mate is on vacation. And not just any plant, but the plant aforementioned office mate and I bought a few months ago, when she was having a mental breakdown about the stress of her new job. (insert eye rolling here) I won't get into the whole thing, but suffice it to say she's a little high maintenance. Been babied her whole life, apparently. And you know I have NO PATIENCE for that. But, in order to limit the amount of office crying and snuffling I had to endure, I agreed to go out with her to buy some stuff for our office, so she would feel more "comfortable here." Whatever. We ended up buying candles and flowers and potpourri and all that crap I'd never have in my office. And we got this lily-ish plant, that looks very fragile. Which she named. And before she left for vacation, she said to me "Now, don't forget, you're in charge of the plant." ME? I kill every plant I come in contact with, unless I can plant it outside. If it's in my house or office, it's a goner. I tried to tell her not to leave it with me, and I let it slip out that I didn't know what she had named it. At which point she put her head down on her desk. Anyway, I'm walking around saying to myself "water Friday, water Friday" - but I think I'm going to sub-contract the care of the lily to my Martha-like coworker down the hall.

Tonight I'm off to my parents to see my brother and his family, who are in town for two weeks. I can't wait to hang out with those kids. I'll probably spend the evening being pulled around in a red wagon, holding a Winnie the Pooh umbrella and eating gummy worms.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com