2001-08-09 - 2:40 p.m.

Last night I ran my errands then came home and cleaned up, grateful for the air conditioning. I started cleaning out my refrigerator, and I had one of those moments of distance. You know, when you step out of yourself for a minute, and feel like you're seeing things from an outside perspective. I was looking at the contents of my freezer, and realizing that I really kind of love my single kitchen. I don't always feel that way - sometimes the sight of condiments, milk, beer and a box of Fr@ngo mints can really depress me. But last night it made me smile, and I wondered what this stuff said about me. In the way I always decide things about people based on what's in their shopping cart at the supermarket. (But that's a story for another entry) So, for posterity and the sake of analysis, the contents of my freezer:

1. One small, whole roasting chicken, wrapped in butcher paper

2. One thick cut pork chop (from Faicco's on Bleecker Street)

3. 2 tupperware containers, holding some unidentified remnants of my Fall/Winter cooking spree.

4. One loaf of rye bread. (Why do I have frozen bread? I will NEVER EVER defrost and eat this. I only like rye bread toasted, and my toaster sets bread on fire. Notice that, despite this, I am holding on to both items)

5. One half-full box of Dole Fruit and Juice popsicles.(I almost typed half-empty. Dammit. I'm sooo trying to be positive these days.)

6. One large bottle of Grey Goose vodka.

7. One bag frozen edamame (brought from Chinatown by A, last summer while we were dating)

8.One bag Pocky candy (w/the edamame, see above)

9. One small blue bottle of Bombay Sapphire gin

10. One lipstick (in a hideous purple sparkly color, left by my niece. This one makes me smile every time I open the door)

11. Three votive candle holders, waiting to have the burnt-down candle wax chopped out. (When I lived in the suburbs, I got sucked into a round of those Party light candle demonstrations. Gack! Those things are evil. On the upside, I did learn the freezer trick)

12. Two frozen homemade pie crusts. (Also from the Fall/Winter cooking extravaganza! Didn't know I made my own pie crust, didja?)

13. Three ice cube trays, half full. (They're never full. I have an aversion to the chore of filling the ice cube trays. I don't think I'm alone here.)

I wonder what that says about me? Maybe tomorrow I'll thrill you all with the contents of the refrigerator.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com