2001-08-17 - 9:57 p.m.

I've been noticing something the past few days - I'm kind of an asshole sometimes. I don't mean it, really I don't - but I think I'm a little self involved lately. (I hope I didn't just hear someone say, "lately?") This morning, for example. We leave the hotel at 8:30, K and I. Stop for coffee at a deli on the way. We pull into the parking lot, and I can see, through the plate glass window, a woman standing at the serve yourself coffee bar. We park, get out, lock the doors, and go in. The woman is still standing there, off to the side, holding a cup. I walk over, get the biggest cup they have, and start filling it when I hear K say, "I'm sorry, did we cut in front of you?" Because SHE is nice. And I look over and say, "Oh my God, I'm sorry, I didn't realize...." And I was sorry, I didn't mean to cut in front of her. But the very next thing that the voice in my head said was "Jesus, what the hell has she been doing all this time? It took us five minutes to get in here, surely it shouldn't take that long to get a damn cup of coffee.." That is just not right. I think it's New York, although I hate to admit that.

So, Day 2 of Seattle. Not so bad. It turned out to be a beautiful day, work was not as bad as a sharp stick in the eye, and I got to sleep with my man last night. He'll be back on Sunday, just for the night, and he left his shoes and suit in my room, which made coming back to the hotel tonight feel a little bit more like home. I'm dead tired tonight, yesterday's marathon day is catching up. Went out tonight with 15 of my co-workers for dinner, to a not so great Tuscan restaurant. The food took forever, but the Sangiovese more than made up for it.Then I got back to the hotel, and got a call from an ex-fling, someone who was SO SO bad, someone I didn't really even like, as a person. But I couldn't help myself, for a little while. Turns out he'll be in Vegas the same time as I will, so I'm going to meet him for a quick drink. And I realize that I'm going to take one look at him, and be sooooo happy that that time in my life is over.Heh. As a matter of fact, Vegas is going to be like a reunion of exes for me.Pre-marriage exes. I'm going for work, and the convention is the biggest one in my industry. I haven't been in years, so that will be kind of weird. Expect updates.

And now I'm off to bed, because it's LATE in New York.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com