2001-09-10 - 3:46 p.m.

I had a good, quiet weekend - went to the Yankee game on Friday night, then home to my parents house in New Jersey on Saturday morning. My mom hasn't been feeling well the past week, she's having some sort of hormonal thing where her joints ache - sort of like arthritis, but not technically. She's young and vibrant, and the fact that she can't do her normal things bothers her more than the pain, I suspect. So I went home, and did her laundry, and changed her sheets, and went grocery shopping and cooked dinner. Plus we got to spend some time just hanging out, which I don't get to do nearly enough. After dinner my aunt and grandmother came over, so I caught up on some family gossip, and then ran over to see the new house of a friend of mine. Ended up sitting in their yard, about six of us, shooting the shit and laughing. My friend Dawn (whose house it is) said, "How do you like my patio furniture? We got it in Laura and Scott's divorce." Then Patty and Ken piped up, " Oh, yeah, we got Trouble's patio set, too - and it's teak! Divorce is always good for the friends." I had to laugh at that ~ seems so long ago that my life was like that. So, while it was fun, I felt a bit like I didn't belong. It's strange - sometimes I go spend time with my old friends, and I feel like my life now is foreign to them, that I'm too cityfied for them now. And sometimes, in the city, when my friends here want to go to some wild party or crazy club, I feel like I'm too provincial for them. Doesn't stress me out, but it does make me feel a little strange - like I'm in some strange in-between limbo.

Anyway, Patty included herself in my plan to go to my grandmother's on Sunday to learn how to make her fabulous stuffed grape leaves. My Mom and I picked her up, and as we were leaving, her 3 year old daughter wanted to go, but Patty told her no. Then we got to my grandmothers, and the first words out of her mouth were "Where's the baby?" Patty said she thought the baby would be in the way, and my grandmother made her call her husband immediately, and have him bring her over. So we had a great, fun cooking lesson, and then lunch outside with the baby, Patty's husband, and Mickey from next door, who has lived next to my grandparents for almost fifty years - and during that lunch, looking at pictures of Mickey's newest great-grandchild, I had a moment of thanks. A rare moment, when, in the middle of something, you realize that you're making a precious memory, right then. So that was cool.

And now, it's Monday, and I spent the morning at the fashion shows in Bry@nt Park - it's fashion week here - I'll write about that silly glamour-fest later,

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com