2001-09-12 - 2:41 p.m.

I just went downstairs to smoke a cigarette - and outside my building, stood a man, holding his hand outstretched. In his hand was a tiny bird, green and yellow, somehow hurt. A few people stopped, and we watched as an employee of the store on the corner came out with a ladder, and a small cup with water. He propped the ladder on the side of the newsstand on the corner, and gently laid the bird on top, with the water next to it. The first man went into a deli, and emerged with a bag of shelled sunflower seeds, and emptied it onto the top of the newsstand, as the bird feebly struggled to its feet and half-heartedly hopped about a little. And my eyes filled, and I turned around to see everyone else getting emotional as well. The metaphor overwhelming us all.

And all of us, in New York and around the country - are still able to focus, even for a small moment, on life.

Focus on life. What else can we do?

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com