2001-09-27 - 2:28 p.m.

Last night after the movie we stopped by the boyfriends place in the East Village, then headed to Detour for a drink before crossing town to my place. After about an hour of a jazz band and the post NYU hipster crowd (hep cats, the boyfriend calls them.. heh)we went around the corner to Ming's to satisfy my spring roll craving. While waiting for our to-go order, I saw a woman, maybe mid-thirties, going after a man with a vengeance. She was a teeny little thing, and she was shoving a man, probably younger than her and definitely heavier, but about the same size. So of course my inner voice says 'cool - fight...' and I moved to the door to watch. He's backing up and she's shoving him over and over, pointing her finger in his face and shouting , "12!!!! Fucking 12, do you hear me? I'll fucking kill you, I'll call the cops..." As I stepped out the door to get a better look (I know, I know... I can't help myself) I finally got it. There was a girl, a chubby Latina girl with long dark hair, talking on a pay phone. Apparently this guy was hitting on her, and the other woman saw it and freaked. Meanwhile, the girl herself is just standing there, talking on the phone like nothing is happening. So strange. At first I was laughing about it with the boyfriend, calling "Right on, sister" and telling him that if he wasn't with me I'd be standing out there (behind her, of course, I'm a 98 lb. weakling) calling him a pig and a swine. But today I was thinking about it, and about the probability of the woman's own experience bringing on such an impassioned response. She wasn't just mad, she was rabid. So the whole thing took on a whole new dimension for me.

See, I think this is my problem the last few weeks. Nothing can be just trivially funny or amusing anymore, it feels, I don't know..... shallow or inappropriate or something. Everything seems to have some dark shadow lurking below the surface.

You know what I think I need? Yup, a weekend without any indoor plumbing.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com