2001-10-03 - 5:03 p.m.

I realized the other day that, although I thought I had gotten back to my normal life after the WTC, I really haven't. And I've been depressed. I mean, I went to work every day, including the day after. I've been going out to dinner, and for drinks, and out to lunch. Going on with it.

But I haven't been doing my regular, everyday things. Getting my nails done, going to the gym, running my errands. Getting a pedicure and dropping off my laundry seemed both inconsequential and overwhelming. So I've made some changes this week. Starting with getting up earlier in the morning.

I've never been a morning person. If left to my own devices, I'd stay up till 2 a.m. and sleep till 9 or 10. But for years I got up at 6:45, or 7 - when I was commuting to the city. Since I've lived here, my sorry ass is in bed until 8:30 every morning, which means I drag myself out of bed, rush around, and barely make it to my desk at 9:15.

I realize that none of this is helping me feel better, so I've started getting up earlier. This morning I actually went back to the gym, at 7:15. Talk about torture.

So I've been spending my time doing some good-for-me things. Since Sunday I've gone to the dry cleaners, bought some new pants, had my laundry done, paid my bills, done my recycling, wrote some letters (!)made corn chowder, roasted a chicken, and taken a bubble bath, and written a threatening letter in cutout newspaper letters with Yelnad. (no, we're not going to send it) And it's helping. I guess it's the little things.

In other news, Orpheusd0wn has sent me a link to a site for the HTML impaired, and in my next entry I'm going to link to him. No, really. Shut up, I am.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com