2001-10-24 - 4:57 p.m.

One of my issues with the boyfriend, early on in the relationship, was that he spent so much time doing things with his friends. Not regular Saturday night things, but things like spending Christmas/New Years in Aspen, skiing. I, in my never-ending quest to find things wrong, decided that this was something that would keep us from ever having a future, that holidays are about family to me and there was no way in hell I'd be spending them in some horrifyingly trendy city with a bunch of forty year old frat boys. Heh. Also, no way in hell I'd tell him I didn't want him to go.

Sunday night, at dinner, he says, "So. I told Dave I'm not going to Aspen this year." I asked him why not, and he replied that he hates the scene, the skiing isn't that great, and he'd rather spend the holidays with me. So we're going to spend the week between Christmas and New Years at his place upstate. But that's not the good part.

The good part is....we're going to get a Christmas tree!

You have no idea how happy I am about this - I love Christmas trees, love the whole Christmas thing. And it's really not the same in the city. For one thing, my apartment is so small (and so HOT) that I couldn't do the live tree thing. Last year I went out and bought some pointsettias for in front of the fireplace, and a small table top tree. In spite of the fact that I have no less than 6 boxes of Christmas decorations and tree ornaments, I went out to M@tt McGhee and bought tiny, matte jewel-toned balls to hang on it. It was lame, but it smelled good, and got me in the spirit a little.

But THIS year, a real tree! And here's the kicker. The boyfriend has NEVER had a real Christmas tree. He had an artificial tree when he was a kid (artificial tree - bah! I'd rather have none.) and has never had one as an adult. That is some sad shit. So he's kind of excited too - I'm thinking of doing only lights and a star, up in the country. And a week in the mountains, with the dog and hopefully some snow.

It doesn't take much to make me happy, really.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com