2001-11-05 - 3:23 p.m.

My boss is driving me right out of my tree. Every business conversation, every exchange of information, is filled with unnecessary details. Today she has to update me on a client meeting she had. And she starts out, "so they came in, and sat down..." No shit. I really don't care if they stood on their heads, just get to the point. And then she relates the conversation practically verbatim. "And then she said.... and then I said...." And I want to slam my hand down on the desk and yell, "Just get to the fucking point!!! Stop torturing me with your endless babbling...." By three o'clock every afternoon I'm trying to figure out ways to make it to the end of the day without another discussion with her. Thank heaven for e-mail.

The weekend was ok, we ended up going out to NJ on Friday night to avoid the early-morning drive. Which caused me to miss my friend Chris' cocktail party, and I'm sure she'll secretly be mad at me for not showing, but she'll never come out and say it. Anyway, it was a late late night party, and there is no way I would have made my Saturday morning Confirmation appearance on time had I gone. So the confirmation went fine, I didn't spontaneously combust, and we were back in the city by 4pm. I went to the dry cleaner, bought some candles and milk, went to the bank and Duane Reade... and ended up spending Saturday night home, on my couch. I'm getting to be such a loser. I had a plan to go to a friend of a friend's party, but I just didn't feel like it. And for some reason, that always bothers me. Like I'm supposed to be out and doing things, all the time. Ridiculous, I know, but there you have it. I did get a lot of writing done, though.

Yesterday was a beautiful day in the city, though. P and I went for brunch at Grove, and sat in the garden eating omelettes and drinking Bloody Marys, then I did a little shopping, and met my friend Red for a manicure and pedicure. She grew up in NJ, and lived in the city for 12 years, and moved to Florida a year ago. She told me that when she flies in now, she notices such a difference. That it's so sad here, that it seems like the city has had the wind knocked out of it. It's a good description, I think. I feel like that myself these days. The memorial at the firehouse has changed again. It's now made up of letters from kids (and those just KILL me) and letters to the specific firemen that were lost. "Dear Manny,..." Almost more emotional than before, more personal. *sigh* I did hear something amazing, though. Jefferson Market is the market where they did their shopping for in-firehouse cooking, apparently. Well, when the neighborhood bar did the benefit for the Family Fund, they raised $100,000. And my neighbor told me the other day that the market MATCHED IT. That is unbelievable, and it will now be my grocery store of choice. Anybody in my neck of the woods, go give them your business, will you?

And last night, the Yankees lost the Series to the Arizona Diamondbacks. What the f#ck? I didn't even know people in Arizona played baseball. Dammit.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com