2001-11-29 - 11:38 a.m.

I got a strange message on my cell phone answering machine.

"Harvey? Harve, is that you? It's me, Harve. Celia and I, we just wanted to congratulate you, we heard the news. We're so sorry we can't make the dinner, but our Paul is going to be in from Baltimore, so we just can't make the drive. So we wanted to tell you, Harve, that we're so happy for you, and for this great honor. I can't imagine a better man for this award, or anyone as good and right as you are. So please give our love to everyone, and enjoy your big day, Harvey, ok? Mazel Tov!"

It went on for at least 5 minutes. And after I listened to it (twice) I thought, that's really too bad for Harvey, whoever he is and whatever he's done. That was a truly heartfelt message, and now he'll never hear it.

And then I had to wonder why my message of "Hey, this is Trouble. Leave a message." and then 30 seconds of frantic, Cujo-sounding barking from my dog, (who would NOT SHUT UP while I was recording) didn't tip the guy off that I was not, in fact. Harvey. Although I do want to know what kind of award he got.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com