2001-12-05 - 12:46 p.m.

This morning I saw something I've never seen before - crackheads. Actually smoking crack (I assume it was crack, anyway) out of a small glass tube. I was on my way to the subway, and there were three of them, in dirty sweatshirts and grey flattened sneakers.

Hard to say how old they are, maybe even in their 30's, but with that middle aged look that most street people have. They were crowded together on the curb in front of Mona's alley gate, and as I passed they chimed up like a bunch of birds, staccato and high pitched, all of them at once - "miss, miss, can you spare some change? spare a cigarette? get me something to eat?" I couldn't help but think "cheep cheep cheep". And when I walked past, ignoring their pleas, they fell immediately and simultaneously into silence. I've never seen anyone smoking crack before. Ah, the joys of unemployment.

So it finally happened. I have now joined the swelling ranks of the unemployed in NY. Can't say I didn't see it coming. And, oddly enough (or perhaps not) I got a job offer yesterday afternoon, before the axe fell, from another company.

I'm trying not to panic and just take it because I'm afraid to be without a job. That's my nature. But I'd like to take a week or so and see what else there is before I commit to something I'm not sure is right. Of course, there's a big chorus of people I know saying, "take it, take it, you can always keep looking." But I don't feel in my gut that it's the right thing. We'll see.

And I'm feeling ok now, relieved to not have to go and deal with all that nonsense. I hated that job.

But I will say this. I am damn thankful to be living in the city right now. I went out to run errands at 10 am, and the streets were filled with people. If I were in the suburbs, isolated, I'd probably be on the couch watching stupid Lifetime movies and smoking cigarettes. Although I may be doing that anyway, by next week.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com