2001-12-10 - 10:46 a.m.

I planned to get up this morning and go to unemployment. I have heard that it can take up to four weeks to kick in, and my severance was pretty damn shitty, so thought I'd get it over with. About 10 years ago, the company I was working for went bankrupt, and I had vague recollections of lines and forms and a little class. So I was mentally preparing myself for it, and called to find out what office to go to - and found out that they did away with the offices! It's all by phone now - so I knocked it out in 15 minutes at home, in my track pants, with coffee. Certainly eases the pain of having to apply for unemployment!

So today I'm going to try to work out some kind of budget. Yikes. I haven't had an actual budget in YEARS. And I have been fortunate enough (up to now) to have enough income and idea of my financial state to not really need one. I'm not especially extravagant, so I won't be giving up Prada shoes or Gucci bags, and I don't have any debt. So I've always kind of spent what I wanted, with half a mind to my total expenditures, and been fine, and saved a bit of money. But now I better figure out a plan to make it last.

My company is only paying me until the end of January, and after that I'll be dipping into my savings. I can economize without giving much up - eating at home is a big one! I didn't realize how much money I spent on FOOD. And lattes, and dinners out. It's funny, I've had lunch with two of my friends this week, and made plans for dinner with Debbie, and all of those friends have said, " I'll get this one. You took me out when I was unemployed." So that's been nice, and gives me hope that my good karma will spill over into the job sector.

The boyfriend is happy, because I will now be cooking him dinner. We go out to dinner ALOT, and even though we don't usually go anywhere too expensive, it adds up. I refuse to let him pay for dinner every time, so I usually pick up every third check, or drinks or the movie if he pays for dinner. Those days are over for a while, so I'll have to cook instead.

I'm going to go make a few calls, and then head to NJ to do some Christmas shopping and wrapping for my grandmother. And I'm still going to Belgium, so will be leaving on Thursday for that. I'll be back later, as I have to write about a little boyfriend concern I'm having.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com