2001-12-11 - 5:01 p.m.

I could really get used to this staying at home thing. Perhaps it's merely denial, but the happy, rested, coffee-drinking, Christmas-making girl that I currently am is the polar opposite of my usual neurotic self.

I went out to NJ to see the family yesterday, and ended up doing all my grandmother's Christmas shopping and wrapping. I ain't the favorite grandchild for nothin, you know. My Mom came over for dinner, and then I went back to my parents, talked to some old friends on the phone, and decorated their tree.

This morning I got up early, got in touch with the inner soccer mom that I just know I could be, stopped at Starbucks, and hopped in Mom's Volvo to hit the swanky mall in Short Hills. I did a little of my own Christmas shopping, returned my fuckups of yesterday, then went to lunch with Patty. My Dad drove me back to the city, winter coats and interview suits in tow, and I came in to a few messages, culminating in a fabulous interview for tomorrow. Through the mysteries of confluence, I have a number of glowing references tied to this particular company. This, my friends, is a job that I would take. Of course, on the stipulation that I won't start until after the New Year. I don't know what his time frame will be, but I'd be fine with a February start date - I'm soooo good at the lady of leisure thing.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com