2002-01-04 - 12:18 p.m.

Somehow, someway, the crisis seems to have passed. I got up early this morning, and got in the shower right away and got ready. I went and took care of my errand in Brooklyn (delayed from yesterday when my interview was 2 1/2 hours long) then came back, took a deep breath, and called the guy I mistook for the AOL harasser.

I didn't mention what had happened yesterday, just said that I didn't want to hold them up, and that I was still interested but hadn't yet completed all the market research or had all my meetings. I told him I was sure he'd understand that it's important for me to find the right company to make a commitment to, and I just couldn't make it happen until next week. And he said ok! After I told him to call me back "at another time." Hmmm. Maybe he thought he got the wrong number. Or maybe he's just not saying anything, and if I call to tell him I'd like the job, he'll tell me to piss off. But right now, I feel relieved beyond belief.

It felt soooo good to get up and right out this morning, to be on the subway at 9am with the respectable, employed citizens of New York. You know, as opposed to slugging around on the internet in my pajamas until noon. I ran into an acquaintance on the train back to Manhattan, so that was kind of nice.

I set up two more interviews, and am off to meet my sort of friend Jo for lunch. So next week I have two interviews, and P is off so I have someone to play with, and it looks like I may get to see Drew before he leaves. Any of you NY diarists want to join us, email me or leave me a note in the guestbook. Tonight I'm going to happy hour, with the boyfriend and a few of his friends, and one of them is the painter of the Queen!! My beloved Queen picture. And tomorrow my Mom is coming in for a visit. I have loved my sloth the last few weeks, but it feels good to be back among the living.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com