2002-01-17 - 12:08 p.m.

Last night I went out to Jack's and met Maria for a drink, and to bemoan the state of our industry. We discussed some of the particulars of the job at the company I want to work for, and it looks like it probably won't work for me. Two words for you, kids: PAY CUT. Too much of one for me to keep from being resentful, and too much to keep me in my current apartment and food at the same time. So. I'm disappointed, because I really would have been motivated in that atmosphere, with all its craziness. I have decided that I'll probably take the one I have on offer, which is a decent job in a not-too-exciting company. Ah, well, beggars can't be choosers, and I do not want to push my luck any further by passing on yet another job in this awful economy.

And then. I went to meet Dawn at the C@mpbell Apartment at Gr@nd Central Station. I got there and realized that it might be hard for her to find, so I called her and we met by the station doors. After almost accosting the wrong woman, I saw her come through the door and recognized her immediately. She was happy to see I was smoking, so we had a cigarette outside and then went up to the bar, where we ordered ridiculously expensive glasses of wine, and settled in on a couch. (Pretentious bar alert: there are chairs and couches arranged around the perimeter of the bar, and you must put your name on a list in order to be allowed to park your ass on the overstuffed furniture. Heh.)

Anyway, we talked and laughed and filled each other in on stuff, (she had never read my journal, but I've been a longtime reader of hers..) and drank wine and smoked cigarettes. When I first met her, and she saw me smoking, she pulled her pack out of her pocket (no wussy purses for her - she has POCKETS), lit one up, and said, "I've gotta smoke now. I told Jay I quit." Just like that. And I knew, right then, that she was my kind of girl. We talked about our lives, and our divorces, and our relationships .(Although I admit I was a little disappointed that she didn't say y'all. Y'all notice I say that in my journal, right? I LOVE that, but I can't get away with it in real life - it just doesn't fly with my no-accent accent.) We laughed about things, and talked about how we can't afford to drink here, and made some plans to get together again.

It must be hard for her, to be alone here in New York, so much of the time. In Times Square, no less. But I must admit, I'm happy to have her here to play with. Hmmm, seems there are my kind of girls around, even if they are in Texas.

And now maybe she'll read my journal. Hey, Dawn, it was awesome. Karaoke with transvestites, next time.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com