2002-01-21 - 11:53 a.m.

Yesterday afternoon was fairly eventful for me, these days. P came over and brought me a present from his trip, and then we headed over to the theater in Chelsea to catch an afternoon movie. Got our tickets, went for a spicy Bloody Mary at the V1ew, then caught A Beautiful Mind. I hate movie reviews in journals, so I'll just say it was ok. Parts were really good, parts had me snorting and P telling me to shut up. I'm a notorious movie-talker. Some of my friends actually refuse to go with me. Heh.

Then we went for appetizers with Brad, and then I rushed home to go to dinner with the boyfriend. Went to C@feteria for their yummy macaroni and cheese (hey, I only had that and salad. Balance, right?) We were THE only straight couple in there. And, for some reason, the boys love the boyfriend. So he pushes through the crowd of handsome, muscled, well groomed boys to get us some wine, and they all look him up and down, and I must point it out to him. It doesn't phase him in the least, which is one of the things I love about him.


But the real news of the day is that I accepted that job. I think I'm going to start next Monday, although I'm tempted to take an extra week off, so I can revel in my sloth and free time without the concern of getting a job. I have to decide today. I'm only semi-excited about it, though. It is much more creative than my last two jobs, so I'm excited about that. And my immediate supervisor and I seem to hit it off. She's a straight-shooter, and when I called her to accept this morning I told her that her speaking frankly with me was a big factor in my decision, as well as the ownership of my business. Patience is not my strong suit, and I know that a great manager can make a shitty job bearable, and a shitty manager can ruin a good thing for me. I left Po1o after one too many fantasies of going up behind my dumbass boss while he checked his stocks on the internet, and bludgeoning him with the putter he had propped in the corner. We'd be crazy, frantically trying to juggle a thousand projects every single day, no letup or break, and from behind his closed door I'd hear the thwocking sound of him practicing his putting. So. There's that. I'm employed again. Yahoo.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com