2002-03-03 - 7:02 p.m.

Sunday night again. Had a pretty mellow weekend, which I needed after my first four grueling (ha) days of work. I spent a blissful, solitary day yesterday - did a little writing, dropped off my laundry, ran errands, got my nails done, and finally went and bought a 2002 calender refills for my Filof@x.

That's right, folks, I'm stuck firmly in the dark ages. I REFUSE to get a Palm Pilot,or any sort of handheld multimedia thing. I don't even use my computer calender at work, it just seems so soul-less. I keep my old pages, throw them in the box of stuff from each year, and when I look at them I see more than just my schedule, I can see what my life was like. Birthday parties I attended, the times my scribblings were almost intelligable because I was busy at work, the friends I saw and places I went. Sometimes I'll find the random phone number or email of a friend scrawled in the margin, or the number of a restaurant, now probably out of business. It's a little trip, I'd never give it up for a computer screen.

I feel all virtous when I start a new job, and my filofax starts out so very optimistically. Everything written neatly, in the same pen, in it's proper time slot. In sharp contrast to what happens half a year later, when I scrawl Dr. F, 5th, 3pm in the middle of the page. But I digress.

So yesterday was productive and peaceful, and last night we went to J@ponica for sushi and sake and green tea ice cream, then to the Quad to see Mulh0lland Drive. Which I hated. Hated. Although D@vid Lynch used his usual surrealism and identity confusion and all his little visual trademarks, I just didn't care anymore by the time it came together. I tried to get the boyfriend to leave, but he was having none of my movie-talking.

Me: Honey?

Him: Squeezes my hand, keeps eyes on screen.

Me: Do you like it?

Him: I don't know

Me: I hate it.

Him: silence, hand holding

Me: HATE it

Him: pulls me over to put me in a headlock disguised as a hug, continues watching movie.

So I shut up and shifted around in my seat and thought about work and waited for it to be over. By the time we left it was pouring rain, and we tried to go have a drink somewhere, The Ced@r T@vern, B@r 6, Merge - but they were all crowded and my coat was soaked and I finally got crabby and we came home.

This morning the boyfriend left after coffee to do some work, and I talked to one of my girlfriends and then we drove out to NJ to a christening for someone in his family. It was interesting, and much like my own family parties, which I was glad to see. His dad was there with his girlfriend, who I hadn't met, and I met a million aunts and cousins. They hired a DJ, apparently to entertain the 30 or so kids under the age of 10, and it was nonstop N*Sync and Br1tney and screaming. It was actually pretty funny, though. Some of those little boys really get into it, and their mothers are right there with the video camera, capturing the moment for future torture.

And now I'm home with the paper, in my pajamas at 7:30, relaxed and happy. And I'm not even dreading work tomorrow - in fact, I'm looking forward to it.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com