2002-03-05 - 9:54 p.m.

I had a very long day today. And I came home, starving - no breakfast, too much coffee, salad for lunch, and 3,693 miniature Reese's. Never too busy for candy. I'm kind of broke, as I haven't had a paycheck yet, so I was trying to figure out what I could scare up without having to go to the store. I went in the freezer to get a Garden Burger that I didn't want, and what do I find? Homemade spaghetti sauce, with braciola and meatballs and pork. Hidden behind that damn rye bread, that's STILL in there. Love when that happens.

So. Work is insane. Made even more so because it is the Office Of Inefficiency. I knew this going in, and it will be ok, as the benefits far outweigh this. But still. I don't suffer fools gladly on a good day. And at work? I can't tolerate it. I had our designer tell me today that her staff is too busy to get us the information we need, for meetings we're having as we speak. I politely reminded her that WE are actually quite busy ourselves, presenting to our customers. I really don't give a shit if she has to stay there till midnight. Or, if she had any common sense, she would recruit some less engaged employees to pitch in. And while this may sound harsh, I myself do it. If it's market, and the designers are running late, I come in over the weekend and get my shit together for the week. If the line doesn't get there until Saturday and I have meetings on Monday, then I come in on Sunday and do it. Without crying that SHE was late. And that is just one of at least a dozen incidents today. My counterpart is on the verge of a breakdown.

The truth is, some sick part of me thrives on the chaos. I'm far more motivated in this situation, frustrations aside, than I am in a lifeless corporate setting, even though the hours may be shorter and the stress more work-related. So, I worked from 8:30 to 8, and had dinner and cleaned up some. And now I'm going to crash on the couch for a while. I really wanted to write a more exciting entry, but I'm wiped. Better tomorrow.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com