2002-03-14 - 9:20 p.m.

Last night there was a huge car crash on my corner, right under my window. It was about 11:30, and I heard squealing tires followed by a loud crash and splintering glass. I ran to the window, and called 911. A cab had run over the curb and up onto the sidewalk, into a lamppost and inches away from the storefront. There were probably 20 people out there, already, and I watched a man get out of the cab, looking dazed, and wander away. I don't know if he was disoriented or trying to get away, but the people literally corralled him back, yelling, "HEY! Where do you think you're going? Get back here!" I saw my neighbor out there, and wanted to go down and see what was going on, but it didn't seem right, to go down and gawk. So I gawked fishwifeishly (heh) out the window, instead. Ambulance got there in 2 minutes, cops a bit later, and after about 10 minutes of watching, I went back to the TV. And then I thought that might be awful of me. To just go back to what I was doing. If that had happened in my neighborhood in the suburbs, I would have been out there bringing them water and seeing if I could help. But here? I don't know, there didn't seem to be anything I could do. Everyone involved was walking around, so nothing tragic happened. Plus, you know, I was in my pajamas already.

I see alot of cool shit out that window. For a while I journalled about it, I'd sit at the window and write what I saw, every day. The worst things are the shouting fights, the best are the arrests. I don't know, when the undercover cops turn on someone and arrest them, you can't help but watch. I can't, anyway. They're really infrequent, though. And the coolest things to see are the mounted police. I hear the horse's hooves on the street and I get a little fluttery feeling in my stomach, like I'm a kid.

It was beautiful here today, and I walked to work this morning. On the way I saw a big white lab walking towards me, with some sort of mark on his forehead. As I got closer, I saw that it was a in the shape of a pair of lips, puckered in a kiss. I don't know, I was mesmerized by this, and I thought at first that it was some kind of sticker or something, some kind of goofy joke. And I looked up at it's owner, with a smile on my face, thinking I'd catch her smiling that I noticed her little joke. And she was poker faced, wearing thick, matte, bright red lipstick. Exactly the color of the lip print on the dog. And she was NOT joking. That is just all sorts of wrong.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com