2002-03-16 - 11:28 a.m.

I'm getting ready to take a shower and head out to NJ for the rest of the weekend. I planned this last week, and discussed it with my mother. I told her that I'd come out on Saturday evening, and stay for her annual corned beef and cabbage St. Patrick's Day dinner. I mentioned that I'd have to take the train home on Sunday night, due to the horrendous traffic out of the city on the night of the Irish Beer Fest. She offers to have my Dad drive me in on Monday morning, instead, but I decline, as I have to be in the office before nine and I'd have to leave at an ungodly hour to drive in.

At least, I thought I said all that. Perhaps not, though, based on the phone conversation I had with my Mom this morning.

10:30 am, just back from breakfast with the boyfriend and a trip to the drugstore, I call my Mom.

"Hi! I knew it was you. I was just telling Dad, 'I haven't heard from Trouble yet this morning... So what are you doing?"

Me: Well, I just got home, I'm going to clean up and run some errands.."

Mom: Oh! I thought you'd be leaving.

Me: No, I told you, I have to do a bunch of stuff.. I'm working now, I have to do all my errands on Saturday. I'll probably leave around three. What are you doing today?

Mom: Well, I don't know. I didn't make any plans because I thought you were coming home earlier. I've got to bake, run to the store, etc..

Me: I'm going to bring the boyfriends car home and leave it at your house until next weekend, I'll just take the train back tomorrow.

Mom: Oh! You're taking the train back tomorrow? I thought you were going to take the train in on Monday...

*sigh*

Anyway, last night we had dinner at our favorite place across the street, and Al joined us for a glass of wine (Barbera...mmmm.) and some carpaccio, then he headed uptown and we stayed and had dinner and talked. We took a little walk after dinner, without coats, and then came home for a little indoor recreation. Had breakfast out this morning, and now I'm getting ready to go out and run my errands. It's eerily warm and humid in the city today, and everyone is in a good mood.

The boyfriend is leaving for a ski trip this afternoon, and we got up and went immediately to breakfast, as he has a lot to do. Which means I didn't shower, my hair looks like a rats nest,and I'm wearing yesterday's jeans and a tshirt, with a black jacket that I don't need. After breakfast, I left the boyfriend at the subway station on the corner of 12th Street, and went to the drugstore to pick up some stuff, then walked the 5 or so blocks back to my place. And no fewer than 5 men smiled at me or spoke to me. I mean, I look like HELL in the morning. When I got home I looked in the mirror, thinking that maybe I looked better than I thought, but nope. A mess. I walk those same blocks to work every morning, with my hair done and makeup on, and no one says shit. Wonder what that means? Maybe some guys just like dirty ratty chicks.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com