2002-03-18 - 3:58 p.m.

I'm sick. As in not going to work sick. On Saturday night I got a phone call at my Mom's from the police. Apparently, my 15 year old cousin has been sick with some horrible stomach flu thing, one that my uncle had the week before. Apparently, she passed out and her eyes rolled back in her head, and her sister freaked out and called 911, and then the cops called my Mom's house, so there would be an adult there. My aunt and uncle were out to dinner, and her sister is a college freshman and was home with her.

So we ran over, and she was okay, but we stayed anyway, the four of us in her bedroom, until her parents got home. They called home before they left the restaurant, so rushed in half an hour later, frantic. My Mom and I left them to it, and went home and to bed.

And then this morning, around 5 am, I woke up feeling very strange, and proceeded to spend the next 4 hours in the bathroom. Let me tell you, the biggest downfall of living alone is that you have to clean the bathroom YOURSELF after you've puked in it. And the boyfriend is away, so I can't even put it off until he gets home from work.

I called in to work, dragged myself to the store for Gatorade, medicine, bread for toast, and ginger ale, and I've been on the couch ever since. I'm actually feeling a little better, so it must not be the evil flu that is running around my family. I finally had toast and green tea about 2 hours ago, and so far so good. Here's hoping it's a 24 hour bug.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com