2002-04-02 - 8:07 p.m.

Another off the cuff entry - but these days, it's those or nothing.

To recap my weekend - Friday night we did the family dinner. Saturday was GLORIOUS - first day it really felt like spring. I went to yoga, got a manicure and pedicure, and ran errands in a tee shirt and flip flops. There was a street fair on Greenwich, so I went and got a sausage and pepper sandwich and a candy apple, and browsed through the cheap sushi dishes and discount socks, then we had a light dinner OUTSIDE, then met our friends at the 29th Street theater and saw an off-off Broadway production of F00l for L0ve, which was excellent in that S@m Shepard moment in time kind of way. We walked over to L0la for a drink afterwards, and listened to an amazing soul singer in the teeny little bar, then went for sushi at midnight. It was really fun, although the woman of our couple friends pulled me aside in the bar to talk about how dissatisfied she was in her marriage. I can't seem to get away from that, I don't know all that many people who are happily married, which does not help my commitment phobia.

Speaking of, my office mate at work is having an affair. She hasn't told me this directly, but I do share an office with her, and she doesn't bother to hide her personal phone conversations from me. I have already figured it out, and I know who with, but I refuse to say anything to her because I don't want to get dragged into it. Makes for some interesting diversion at work, though.

And today I spent three hours looking at apartments with a baby-faced broker who told me he'll knock a point off his commission if I hook him up with some clothes. I love the barter system. I looked at about 10 places, five of which I rejected outright, and I did see a few interesting ones, although some of them are in big buildings, and I never thought I'd live in one of those. I told him I'd rather give up the space and get the charm, but I looked at a really awesome apartment in the Arch1ve, and another one in the mews of a big building on Hudson. That one has a locked garden entrance, and a shared courtyard in front, which is a huge plus in this city. But nothing that I HAD to have. I narrowed it down to the mews unit, the Arch1ve, and two smaller ones closer to my current apartment, one of which needs a little work. I'm sending the boyfriend out with the broker tomorrow to look at them, and I feel like I at least have a starting point. I'm not all that comfortable with the doorman buildings, I prefer my funky little walkup, but I have to admit I was tempted by the granite counters and the dishwashers in those luxury buildings. I also called a few people to put out the word, so we'll see what develops. I really don't want to move until after the summer anyway, so unless I find something that really grabs me I'll just keep looking.

And for the record, I had another anxiety dream last night. The two are definitely related, and realizing that doesn't seem to stop it.

And now I'm home, typing this quickly and getting ready to cook dinner. I'm too distracted to write.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com