2002-04-04 - 11:05 a.m.

Yesterday I was introduced to the wonderful world of disposable clothing by my co-worker Anne. This is kind of a trendy office, and I'm not that trendy a girl. My taste has always run to the classic; my closet is full of black and charcoal straight leg pants, long black skirts, and khakis. White shirts, tshirts, turtlenecks. I'll occasionally splurge on a dressy top or something, but it's unusual. I have a hard time spending money on off colors, or new styles that I won't be able to wear six months from now. I was raised to believe that you spent your money on quality - one really expensive pair of black boots that will last five years I'll do, but five pairs of cheap shoes - never. Until yesterday.

Enter H&M. I really only went to keep Anne company, but I found a cute little black top that was ridiculously cheap, so I picked it up, and half an hour later I was putting six shirts and a bag on the counter. I was blown away by the ridiculously low total, and I got to buy things like a red bag and a dusty pink chiffon drapey top that I never would have bought if it wasn't $15. That place rocks. Of course, the shit will fall apart in 6 months, but who cares? I'm feeling all sassy today in my black wrap top.

You know what else happened yesterday? An ex of mine, pre-marriage, came by my office with his five year old daughter, and let me tell you, it was surreal. I'm not sure why, as we've kept in touch all these years, and I was fully aware of the circumstances leading up to this - his marriage, his first child, and then this second one. But it was a very strange thing, for him to come walking through the door with this little girl, hiding her face in his pant leg. Made me feel old. She was adorable, and I endeared myself to her forever by giving her a big envelope full of all the candy and cookies and crap we keep around this office.

And today's another day, sunny but not too warm, and I'm going to have dinner tonight with my old friend Jeanine, who I haven't seen in two years, and I made plans to hang out with Ellen and some of her girlfriends on Saturday. And hopefully I'll get to do a little writing this weekend, too. I'll definitely be updating, I swear.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com