2002-04-06 - 6:55 p.m.

After I posted this morning, I decided that since my houseman was sick this week, I would do a little housecleaning this morning. I got another cup of coffee, put on some music, and vaccuumed the floor and the rug. Which led to a round of vigorous housecleaning, moving of furniture and all. I dusted and scrubbed the bathroom and washed the floors and shined the wood floors. Windexed all the glass, made the bed, recycled. I HATE cleaning, I always get all sidetracked. I'll go in the bathroom to clean the counter, and open the medicine cabinet to put away the floss, and decide that the cabinet has to be cleaned out too. Or I'll be dusting the dresser and decide to clean the drawers, where I come across some pictures I forgot about and I start looking at them and then maybe get another cup of coffee, or talk on the phone... you get the picture. So cleaning my shoebox ends up taking all day. Today, though, I stayed focused and the place was sparkling in an hour.

One thing, though - I was taking everything off the kitchen counters so I could scrub it, and I picked up the garlic cellar, you know, the terra cotta kind with the holes in it. And when I put it down, I heard the garlic inside it..well, rustle. Move for a second, after I had already put it down. My heart started pounding, and I picked it up gingerly and moved it again. Same thing, just for a second. I realized it was probably just the oddly shaped head of garlic, tipping over and then settling, and I continued cleaning. Then a feeling of dread came over me, and I got a doubled plastic grocery back from under the sink, and put the whole thing in there, cellar and all, and tied the handles tightly and quickly. Then I put it in ANOTHER plastic bag, tied that one, and put it in the hall, outside my apartment door.

Hey, you can't be too careful. A mouse could easily fit through one of those holes. And P is in San Francisco.

After my cleaning spree I ran to R1cky's and to the drugstore, shipped off some packages, and went to Jeffers0n Market for groceries. Got my hair cut, and am now home to relax for an hour before heading out with Ellen and one of her friends. Should be interesting.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com