2002-04-10 - 7:39 p.m.

Have you heard this nonsense about our mayor? Apparently, at some point, when asked about past marijuana use, the mayor 'fessed up. Made a comment that he enjoyed it, too. Now, it's obvious to me why he did this. First of all, some worried that this mayor is too corporate, too business, too far removed from the people. His camp believes, rightfully, I think, that part of the his appeal was that he's not a politician. Therefore, I conclude that he had two reasons behind his statement - 1) to show that he's NOT too far removed from the liberals, and 2)to reinforce the fact that he is not some sleazy liar politician. (see: "But I didn't inhale..") This seems obvious enough.

But there is a group of geniuses, out to legalize marijuana, that decided to appropriate that little sound bite and make our mayor the poster boy for pot. Hello? Of course, all the tabloids jumped on it, running the mayors pictures with all kinds of exaggerated blurbs. So what did they accomplish, this brain trust? The mayor holding press conferences to reassure the REPUBLICAN party that got him elected that he is not, in fact, easy on drugs. He vowed to continue Herr Rudy's "broken window" policies on marijuana. Way to go, boys. That group is their own walking advertisement for reasons NOT to legalize it. Pot causes prolonged stupidity, is the message I got.

Anyway - nothing too exciting going on, except that I am embroiled in a small subterfuge at work to try to get my old boss hired. It's secret because my counterpart seems to think that she is qualified to run the show, and that, my friends, is some serious delusion on her part. I'm feeling really, really good today. Springy and happy and calm. I really do need the daylight, although until today I've been feeling beat up every morning from the time change.

Last night I bailed out on all my plans and stayed home, which apparently I really needed. Tonight I'm going to a birthday party for a friend, briefly, and then probably for a low-key dinner with the boyfriend, and home to do a little more real estate research. So I'm off.

One more thing, though. Despite my good mood today, on my walk home from work I was talking to my Mom on the cell phone, and a white haired, craggy faced man passed me. As he did, he turned around and stared at me, and then continued walking with his head turned sideways, staring in my face in a very blatant, strange way. Until I snapped,"What the hell are you staring at me for?" And he turned his head and walked away. Heh. My mother was horrified.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com