2002-04-15 - 8:05 p.m.

I am watching the most depressing movie ever, on the local cable channel. They put these weird homemade movies on them, and most of them are really really bad, but this one is horribly compelling. It's about a lonely, middle aged, mousy woman living a solitary life in Manhattan. I've seen it before, actually, although I never catch the title. Joanna, have you ever seen this? God, it's awful. There's a scene where it's her birthday, and she goes to her dreary temp job where everyone takes advantage of her, and she goes the whole day without speaking to anyone. She leaves, and takes the subway home, and stops at the grocery store for a single piece of birthday cake, atop which she lights a candle, blows it out, then closes her eyes and starts to cry. It's very stark and grainy, and ugh, God. Anyway, she finally finds a little happiness with a man, and they are just shyly courting, and she takes her first day off ever in the middle of the week to see him. He gives her his number at the end of the afternoon, and on her way home she's mugged and shot in the head. The last thing you hear is the voiceover of the news report..an unidentified woman was found dead.. I wish I could turn it off, but I can't.


And now, the good. Found an apartment. Made an offer, and we'll have to wait a week to hear back from the owner..I don't want to say too much about it, but it will be a great deal if it works out, and I love love love it. Ok, I will say one thing about it. WALK IN CLOSET. Heh. Keep your fingers crossed. I'm feeling lucky.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com