2002-04-17 - 7:24 p.m.

Damn, it's hot. 90 something degrees - in April. It's craziness. Global warming. And I know I complained about this last year at around this time, but the drastic changes in weather are wreaking havoc on my wardrobe - spring clothes are not yet here, so I'm making do with my few new short sleeve tops and one pair of sandals. This is just not cutting it, especially since I can't walk to work in said sandals. Think it will be back to normal by tomorrow, though. I probably won't get out to NJ for the summer wardrobe until next week, and I cannot afford to buy one more thing, as it looks like I might be moving soon. It's not a done deal, so I'm not going to talk about it yet, but it's very very close. I'm sure there will be many neurotic entries soon to come. I know that when it's done I'll want to spend every remaining night lying on the floor of this apartment, memorizing every detail of this, my most favorite place to live so far in my life. I'm so bad with the change. Hate the change, although it seems I'm always doing it. I get all choked up just thinking about it. I'll probably be crying like a sissy the day I move. Anyway..

Last night I went out for sushi with Deb, and we had a mojito at the bar while we waited, finally scoring a table on the roof garden. My neighborhood was literally swarming with people, out enjoying this crazy weather. We people watched and ate sushi and I told her about my anxiety dreams, and she told me about her blind date last night, and we talked about trying to get her into my company. Also, Deb has lived in her apartment for close to 10 years now, and just now realized that there is a garden behind it that everyone can use. She had always thought it was private, belonging to the apartments on the ground floor, but her neighbors clued her in, so we went to check it out after dinner, and joked about how instead of going to the office on Saturdays to do line plans, I'd walk over with coffee and we'd do them in the garden.

Now about the job thing: Deb and I have both worked for the owners of this company before - she was my boss, in fact. She was very high strung, and workaholic, but I learned how to work within her parameters, and we were a pretty strong team. Since then, she's taken a 3 year hiatus from the business, and mellowed out ALOT. We also have travelled extensively, and compiled quite a few really funny stories along the way, and it would be really good. So we worked up this whole plan on how it should work, and then she called me this morning at work.

Me: hello?

D: Can you hear my balls clanging from there?

Me: What'd you do?

D: I called Francois (owner) on his cell phone and told him I had a proposal for him. And then I laid it all out there. He told me how happy they were with you, I told him you were part of the package.

Me: What did he SAY?

D: He asked me what I wanted, and said he'd talk to his partner and call me tomorrow.

Me: You know what that means...

D: Holiday line plans in the garden.

Me: Right on.

D: Ok, me and my balls gotta go.

So it will be very interesting to see how it all plays out.

My broker just called. Looks like things will be finalized by Friday. I think I'm breaking out in hives.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com