2002-05-16 - 6:58 p.m.

I stopped at my usual coffee cart on the street this morning for coffee. If you haven't seen one of these, it's a small plexiglass and metal cart that can be attached to a car by a trailer hitch. It's got built in coffee makers, and shelves all around the walls, and a little window where you order. I was thinking that I really like that coffee, and a large, GOOD coffee for a buck is quite the deal in New York.

But the carts also sell FOOD. Specifically, bagels and rolls and baked goods. They're arranged on the shelves that line the cart, on top of a sheet of wax paper, and they're cheap, and tons of people buy them. And all I have to say about that is EWWWWWW. The muffins press right up against the scratched, milky plexiglass, and that just cannot be sanitary. And this is coming from a girl who will eat the jello shot AFTER she picks it up from the driveway where she dropped it.

Made some plans today to attend Ellen's graduation from her Masters program, and ran out and met my old coworker K for a quick coffee this afternoon.

And now I'm home, and starving, and I'm going to go out and walk around in the beautiful weather and scare up some dinner. Maybe more later.

Oh, one more thing. I was really excited to hear about the launch of the women's magazine Gr@ce, which garnered much media attention for its mission of depicting REAL women, even in their advertisements. It's always seemed incongruous to me that in so-called modern women's magazines, an article about how to love your body faces a Gucc1 ad featuring an airbrushed, unnaturally thin woman. I was shocked the first time I went to a photo shoot, to see the models taping up their breasts and walking around with stark brown v's drawn on their chests, which show up on film as the curves of cleavage. I read in Gr@ce that the best thing a woman can do for her self esteem is to look at the pictures of Pl@yb0y centerfolds pre-airbrushing. Although the women obviously have stellar bodies naturally, there are a lot of little realities that never show up. And it aggravates the shit out of me that this is a taboo subject - it's just not really addressed.

A male friend of mine mentioned to me the other day that he attended a magazine launch, and that the space was decorated with the latest cover. And the women (not models)shown were at the party. He was shocked to discover that they didn't look anything like the cover. HELL0000000...

Anyway, I digress. I was excited for the launch of this, and I bought the first issue today. Um, not quite what I expected. It's a magazine catering to "plus size" women. Even though there are articles in there denouncing the fact that the average size of an American woman is 14, and that the average is considered "plus" by the fashion industry. And you know, that's not really what I was looking for. Why make it for bigger women? I want a magazine for ALL women. That includes ALL women, and no articles on "how to make your man stay for breakfast..."

Damn.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com