2002-05-19 - 3:26 p.m.

Had a good, quiet night last night. The vestiges of my monster hangover stayed with me for the entire day, but we went to a 7:15 showing of Be1iever. And it was AMAZING. Disturbing, to be sure, but done remarkably well. We couldn't stop talking about it when we left, all the way to the Grey D0g, where I finally got some vegetables in me, and an iced tea, and then we walked to the movie store, stopped for espresso to go, and then came home. In bed by midnight, out cold by 12:02.

This morning I woke up and cuddled with the boyfriend, revelling in my non-hungover awakening. He ran out for bagels and the paper, we had coffee and read for a couple of hours, and then I went to the gym.

Yes, I actually hauled my ass out of the house and to the gym. And it was a nightmare. Gym owner people? Listen up. I HATE going to the gym. I'd rather go to the dentist than to the gym. So when I finally undetake the Herculean task of getting there, I need it to be EASY.

My plan, my big slacker plan, is to up the cardio. You know, at least get in 20 minutes of cardio, every day. So I get on the treadmill, hang up my jacket on the little hook, untangle my headphone cord while cursing boisterously, plug them in, put in my tape. Program the treadmill, start. And the thing starts vibrating like it's going to take off into space. Curse some more, go to another one. Same routine, start treadmill, realize no music is playing, lean over while jogging and push them firmly into place, watch screen scan for headphones, no signal, no music, nothing. Curse. Move to the next one - no service on the video screen. I was seriously ready to leave, but I went and vented on the poor membership lady, since there were NO EMPLOYEES at all in the cardio room. Finally a guy left, I watched him slide out his cd and take off his headphones, so I made my move. Got on, did the whole thing, tried to put in the tape - everything else is working, but the tape player is jammed. I just said fuck it and ran HARD for twenty minutes without any goddamn music and went home, thoroughly disgusted. Don't they KNOW how hard it is for me to get there? Don't the KNOW that I'm looking for any possible excuse to get the hell out of there, immediately? Damn.

But I feel pretty good, now.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com