2002-07-01 - 10:44 p.m.

Ok, so we're moved in. FINALLY. I can't really complain too much, as I am not the one who made countless trips to my apartment, his apartment, AND P's apartment to pick up a 500 lb armoire. It was pretty hot, and it was a lot of work, more than the boyfriend has bargained for, I think. He and his brother did the whole thing, while I sat in the back of the van on the street, drinking Evian and smoking cigarettes and talking to the neighborhood people that I know. I moved right around the corner, so I see all the same people.

Actually, I felt kind of guilty about it. You can't leave a van on the street unattended in NYC, so I had to wait there. Then once we were unloaded, I had to go upstairs to the apartment and wait for the couch and bed to be delivered. In the air conditioning. With water and ice in the refrigerator. I did unpack most of the boxes, and did all the kitchen. I definitely got the better end of the bargain, and the boyfriend was chivalrous about it, not at all put out or resentful. He also took care of all the utilities - all I had to do was cancel my old ones.

And really, I almost cried about that. I made a big huge deal over it, and he looked at me like I was crazy, but my whole entire adult life, I NEVER had anyone do that distasteful little dirty work, it was always me. When I had roommates I was always taking charge, my ex would never have done it, and then I lived on my own. And seriously, it was SO nice. You people probably think I'm a freak now (now?) The boyfriend is very liberated, and we both do most everything. Laundry, cleaning, errands - I cook unless we're upstate and he can grill, but he always does the dishes. But those little things, that caretaking - it's what I've been missing, all this time. I never let anyone take care of me (or, in the case of the ex, they didn't want to)and goddamnit, it's long overdue. And it's nothing but good for him, as I am extremely appreciative, which makes his life better, too. Simple, no? Make each other happy, in the small ways, and it becomes huge. The generalized Happy. You'd think I'd have caught onto this concept sooner.

Anyway - I am in LOVE LOVE LOVE with my new apartment. I don't even want to go out. I'm still in that giddy new-place stage,where I wake up early and can't wait to get up and make coffee in my new kitchen, or stand in the shower and look out the huge window onto B@lducci's. Did you hear that? I see my favorite market, from the shower. I'm ridiculously thrilled. It feels really obnoxious to go on about it - but I can't remember ever being this happy in a new place. It's everything I want - amazing views, iron casement windows, a fabulous kitchen, a dishwasher(!) and closet space, did I mention?

And, in case you're ready to hurl now, he's at the beach today and tomorrow with his friend and his family. And I am BLISSFULLY happy to be alone in this place.

More later

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com