2002-07-02 - 8:52 p.m.

It is stiflingly, insanely hot here right now. The heat has weight, and this city is disgusting. Every corner smells like boiling urine, everyone is less dressed than usual, and it's dirty and nasty and HOT. This morning on my cigarette break (not too hot to go outside to smoke, notice) a man came up and touched my arm, put his whole hand on it, and I almost freaked out right then and there. Too hot for that shit, for certain.

Deb came home with me after work to see the place, and then I went to the store for groceries, and made dinner, some chicken tortilla thing from C00king Light that was actually pretty good. And now the coffee is brewing, and I'm sitting in the blessed air conditioning, burning candles and sitting at my new (to me) desk - I'm already getting my little writing juju going in this new place. The little ritual that develops without you noticing.

P gave me his hibiscus when he moved. The thing is a monster, it's huge and gorgeous, and when the boyfriend came back from getting it, he said, "Here. P said if you kill this he'll kill you."

I put it in the big south facing window in the living room, and it's blooming huge, deep red, papery flowers, they're amazing. They only last about a day, maybe two, but there's lots of new growth, so one or two seem to be blooming when the others shrivel up. Of course, I have no fucking idea what to do with this thing. He told me, trim it back, keep it moist, don't overwater...that's all Chinese to me. Any and all advice gladly accepted - I really want to keep it alive, it's an amazing plant.

I also have been on a very tight budget, which includes no AmEx card. I checked my statement online today, and the only thing on there was my monthly gym and internet bills! Barely a hundred dollars - I'm shocked and amazed. So today I went and bought myself one teeny tiny little pair of sandals. Bad, I know. But DAMMIT! They were really cute, and on sale for cheap, so I said fuck it and put them on the card. And I'll probably take it with me this weekend, but after that it stays home. Maybe I can actually SAVE some of that money for a change.

There's still a fair amount to be done around here. I still have some stuff at my old apartment, which I have, understandably, lost all interest in. I don't even feel like going over there to get the stuff. But we will, tomorrow. My Scr@bble game is there, after all. And my curtains. And my wrought iron gate. The boyfriend won't play Scr@bble,he hates board games, but I'm pretty sure I'll be able to break him down when it's here. And there are still boxes of books in the hallway, and nothing on the walls, and the rug is at the dry cleaners. I have also not yet ventured downstairs to the laundry room, and I have a shitload of it to do. But you know, I need a break. I had that little physical meltdown this weekend, where I really felt like I was on the verge of some horrible illness, and I'm glad it didn't turn into anything. But it's been a stressful few weeks, and I just need a little time to BE. I think I'll go take a bath. By candlelight, as I have no curtain on that huge window, and I don't want to be giving a 10 block radius a show.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com