2002-07-24 - 8:24 p.m.

I showed my apartment today, and I was horrified at the state of the place. The painters must have been climbing on counters, and there were black handprints and boot marks all over the white cabinets and counters. The guy didn't care though, and he asked me out to boot. Well, he asked if the boyfriend and I were serious, and I said yes, and he said, damn, I was going to see if you wanted to get some dinner. Heh. Maybe I should have gone, maybe he'd take it then. At this point I'll even put out for a tenant. Joking.

So before the 6 pm showing, I stopped by to try to do some damage control. I hauled out the blinds (that they were supposed to get rid of)put the painting supplies in the closet, threw out all the newspapers they had used as dropcloths. The bathroom was disgusting, black marks everywhere, and bits of plaster and dirt coating the tub. I ran out and bought those Cl0rox Wipe things ($4. I paid $4 for those stupid wet tissue things) And I found out that it is near impossible to clean an entire apartment with Cl0rox Wipes. I did the counters and the cabinets and the stove, and all the surfaces in the bathroom, and then I found some leftover bleach under the cabinet, and rubber gloves, and I cleaned the nasty tub and then cleaned the entire floor with those fucking wipes. It was a nightmare, let me tell you. I even cleaned the REFRIGERATOR, with those stupid cleaning things. Took forever.

I even went down and got the roach broom, the one P used to kill the giant roach long ago, and brought it up and swept. I swore that thing would never cross my threshold again, but, man, I was desperate. I called my cleaning guy to see if he can come and give it a good scrubbing, but I haven't heard back yet. Anyway, it's done now and I am praying that it will rent this week. I really don't need this stress.

And tonight I really want to go out, but I'm broke and I have no one to go out with, anyway. The boyfriend went out to his Dad's to get a truck, and neither of my standby dinner companions are around, so looks like I'll be eating spinach lasagna for the THIRD night in a row, because it's already there and it doesn't cost me anything. I really need some more local friends. Problem is, I can't stand many people these days. And I need them to be low-maintenance. I can't be in a new friendship that demands too much of me, it's not my way. Some people (many people) don't like that. They think I'm mad if they don't hear from me for a few weeks, or get mad at me for not calling or visiting. But, hey, it's nothing personal. I am a good friend, I like to spend time with my friends and I'm always there if they need me. But daily check in phone calls? Obligatory workday lunches? Not for me. Maybe that's why I can't get a dinner date.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com