2002-08-11 - 9:18 p.m.

I realize today that last night's entry was rambling and incoherent, but I'm not going back to edit it, damn it.

My four year old nephew unexpectedly brought up the subject of the Freakshow to his mom. "Mommy, I miss her. I love her, she was my friend." And she said, "I know you miss her, sweetie. But she's in doggie heaven now, and she can see you, and it makes her happy." Later that day she was driving with him in his carseat in the back, and he stuck his face up to the window and yelled, "Shelby! Can you see me?" So cute.

Today was a good, mellow day. Had breakfast and read the paper with my parents, and a couple of my girls came over to sit on the patio and drink iced tea and smoke cigarettes. Then I went to a family barbecue, and my Dad drove me back to the city.

My friend Patty blantantly hurt my feelings this weekend. I don't want to get into the whole long story, but I was really hurt about it this morning - she made a tentative plan with me, I left her a message which she listened to, and then she left for the beach without calling me. I know why she did it, but that doesn't make me feel any better. But I spent a lot of time with my friends, and my family, and so by tonight I'm just not worrying about it anymore.

I have grand plans to go to the gym tomorrow morning, so I better go unpack my stuff and get to bed at some reasonable hour. I have an insane week at work, and I'm taking off Friday to go to the Cape for a long weekend. (Hence the renewed gym commitment.) I'm going to try to update, though. No, really.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com