2002-09-17 - 10:12 p.m.

Do you know what I just did? I ordered in groceries. Gah, I have reached an all time low. I ordered a quart of milk (2%)and a quart of orange juice, and, um - a pack of cigarettes. Because the truth is, I just wanted the cigarettes. I had a ridiculously hellish and disorganized day, and I went out for a beer after work, and then came back here and smoked, and am making pasta for dinner, in my pajamas. I just realized I was down to my last cigarette, and the thought of getting changed and going out to get them was just too much. I'm ashamed, really. Ok, when I started typing that, I had just ordered. And it just got here - 5 minutes, max. Seriously, I may never leave the house again.

The other night I discovered a double decker tour bus, parked outside my window. I was in the bathroom, and I heard a broadcasted voice, and thought it must be the TV from next door - but we never hear anything in there. So I stuck my head out the window to see if I could hear it out there, and I looked down and saw the bus. 11 stories down, a bus full of people, sitting in the open top level of the red tour bus, people who have probably never been here before. And I felt like I HAD to do something. I don't know what, but something.

The dilemma, of course, is that I don't want to do anything that might hurt or scare anyone. (no really. I didn't) And yelling and waving seemed kind of stupid.But it seemed like such a NY moment, waiting to happen, and I was WASTING it. So I hung there, out the window, watching them, knowing that none of them would think to look up, although I wished one would. I have since decided that next time, I'm going to throw confetti.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com