2002-09-19 - 10:47 p.m.

I am exhausted, and I have got to stop reading journals that drive me crazy. Really, it's like a sickness. There's one in particular, and I read it only sporadically, as it's on one of my favorite diarists links page. It's actually a dual webpage, written by a couple, and, um..I find it extremely hard to believe that these people exist in the real world. I'm sure they're very nice people, but it's so..phony, somehow. Simperingly simple. And yet, I keep going back. Must stop this behavior, immediately.

I have nothing to say, really, but I feel compelled to write anyway. I went to dinner tonight in my neighborhood with Jerry and Maria. We had a bottle of wine and a great dinner, and some highly emotional exchanges due to an indiscretion of Jerry's. We, of course, speaking for women in general. Jerry calls us the two-headed monster, and while he may have hoped this would be a light and friendly dinner, he must have known this was brewing.

But we laughed alot, too, and we walked Maria to the train and then Jerry got picked up at my corner, and now I'm home, in my pajamas, waiting for the boyfriend to get back from his business trip. While he was away, a friend loaned me The N@nny Di@ries. See, this is what I was talking about. These women, who relinquish ALL child care to the nanny. Although down here, in the lowbrow part of town, most of the nannies I see are NOT college educated Manhattan natives. That's for uptown. She talks about The Spatula, the move these mothers use when approached rapidly or excitedly by their child, to deflect the messy hands or the skirt wrinkling leg hug. I have seen that with my own eyes. So I'm going to go finish it in bed.

Oh, and tonight, another tour bus. I heard the faint microphoned voice, and lamented my lack of confetti or a water pistol, but when I looked down there were only three people on the top. I'm not likely to waste my confetti on three lousy people. I'm going for maximum effect.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com