2002-09-21 - 2:58 p.m.

I have been helping my friend Deb try to find a home for a stray dog that she sponsors, and last night my friend Ken drove into the city to pick her up. He has a big yard, a daughter, and a wife getting ready to move out. The dog is an adorable Dalmation mix, with a big black ring around her eye, like Petey from the Little R@scals. She is sweet and goofy and really very mellow, and you can count her ribs, poor thing. So he brought her home, and I talked to their little girl last night, and she was beside herself: "Aunt Trouble, know what I got at MY house?" No, what? "A DALMATION! And she's gonna sleep in my woom!" Wow, that's great! Is she cute? "Yeah, and she follows my daddy everywhere he goes!" So that worked out perfectly for everyone. Ken is going to be lost when Patty moves out, not so much for her, but for the 50% of the time their little girl will be with her mother. He will spend that time alone working on the house, and working on the dog. He's a project guy, he'll do online research, build a fence, and train her. And she, well, she gets out of that 4x4 cage in a Manhattan shelter and gets grass and room to run and a constant companion. I'm so glad he took her. And so is Deb, who'd grown mightily attached, but spends approximately 7 hours a day at home, 5 of which are spent sleeping.

And today, even though I stayed up way too late last night, I woke up full of energy. I had a quick cup of coffee and a big glass of water, went to the gym (!) and ran hard, did some arm weights, and came home and cleaned the house. I mean really cleaned it.

And I was INTO it, too. My hatred of housework is no secret, but I discovered today that listening to M@cy Gr@y's 'On How L1fe Is', while cleaning somehow had me vaccuuming the floors, clad in my panties and a tank top, shaking my ass and singing at the top of my lungs. This place is sparkling, and I feel exhilirated, like I had two workouts. Now if I could only get my ass to the laundry room.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com