2002-10-06 - 11:53 p.m.

Had a lovely, if somewhat abbreviated, weekend upstate. I went to a funky old bookstore, and collected leaves for my niece in Florida, and spent a day in Huds0n, an old textile town in the midst of being gentrified, which is always interesting. Bought a cool tin star, a giant 3-D one made of some sort of tin, bolted together and painted a dull red. It�s huge, and we hung it over the couch, which is making me want to decorate this place, badly.

And we went to the Country Bar. This is the bar we always go to, the only one in a five mile radius, and one we love. It�s an old, divey bar, attached to a sprawling farmhouse, and is run by a benevolent grouch, an old man transplanted from Brooklyn, where he designed intellectual jewelry and talked politics from beneath his long grizzled beard. He is a purist, runs that bar quietly but with absolute force, refuses television or updated vinyl pub like booths, and he has an antique tarpon, a 6-footer, mounted on the wall with chains. The crowd there is mostly regulars, comprised of a handful of city people with weekend houses, and the rest locals, hunters and hardened women and a few local artists and musicians.

Last night, though, it was packed. The local post-theatre crowd, and a bride in her wedding dress, and the usual assortment of tooth-deficient local drunks. There was a guy, maybe 30, with a busted grill and overalls on, who DROVE HIS TRACTOR to the bar. That�s right, a mere 2 hours outside of Manhattan, there are people driving farm equipment in order to get their drunk on for a maximum audience. There was a local bluegrass band, complete with violins, who gave an impromptu concert. Our friend Nick was there, he�s a crazy, sexy Norwegian hippy, and he brought over someone he knows to our table � a blond woman, also wearing overalls, and a tie dyed tank top and blue platform sneakers. He introduced us, and she shook my hand and said, �I saw you when you came in, you looked so BEAUTIFUL walking through the door, radiant almost.� I was truly speechless, and sputtered, well, jeez, thanks, I�. And I turned to the boyfriend after she walked away and said, wow, I don�t think a woman has ever said that to me before. So I was all happy, because, you know, it actually means much more coming from a (hetero) woman � you know there�s no ulterior motive.

And then we moved to the bar, to let the band move our table to set up, and we talked to her for a bit. And that�s when I realized � she�s a fucking nutjob. Figures.

And the boyfriend spent the rest of the weekend, every time I moved, saying, �Baby, you look so BEAUTIFUL walking in here like that.�

Ah, well. It was good while it lasted.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com