2002-10-19 - 11:09 a.m.

P is in town, and last night we went to dinner in the East Village with him, and our friend Chris, and a friend of hers. We went to T@bleau, and they sent us down the block to B0uche Bar for a drink while we waited for our table. When it was ready, he called the bar, and they sent us back. It's a brilliant arrangement, really. Anyway, dinner was fabulous and we drank wine and told stories and laughed, and then went around the corner to J0e's for a drink. There was a group of extremely drunk college age kids, and one of them was falling down drunk, riding on his friends shoulders, falling off his chair, reeling around the bar and crashing into walls. A regular, a scary little wiry Latino, finally had enough and got up in his face.."You want to push me? You want to DISRESPECT everyone in this bar? You wanna play? We'll play, all right, I'll call up my friends and we'll play The Y0ung and the Restless!"

YOung and the Restless?

I was coming out of the bathroom while this little exchange was happening, and stood there behind them, listening. When it was over (the drunk kids left, quickly, holding up their hands placatingly) I returned to my friends at the bar, and P laughed and said, "I saw you staying back there - what were you, hoping to get a little sneak punch in?" Heh. I told him I'd give him $20 to ask that little psycho what he was talking about with that Y0ung and Restless crap, but he said he wanted to wait for the guy to calm down.

A little while later, the guy walks by, and stops to ask us, in an overly soliticious manner, if he had offended us. P then asked him the question, and he said, "The Y0ung and the Restless, you know, a soap opera. He wants to get all dramatic, make a big scene, I'll give him a soap opera." So that was a big disappointment, really. He then went on to tell us that he believed everyone should show respect, that he's a Muslim and everyone is his brother and sister. And then, in case we didn't understand that concept, he illustrated it by pointing his beer bottle at each of us in turn.."you're my brother and you're my brother and you're my sister and you're my brother and you're my sister." Uh, ok. He continued on in this vein, looking directly at me as he explained himself, and I had to bite the inside of my cheeks to keep from laughing. Luckily, I controlled myself, because that could have been ugly. He might've gotten all B0ld and Beautiful on me.

And today I got up early, and planned to go out and do all kinds of shit, like shopping and errands and nails, but now it's cloudy and cold and I just don't feel like leaving the house. Tomorrow I have to go do my cousin's open house, she's selling it herself and asked me to help her. I may even go tonight, and see some of my girlfriends. But I'll have to get my ass out of this chair first.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com