2002-11-01 - 5:47 p.m.

So you want to know what I did for Halloween? I ignored it. Emerging from the subway at 14th Street, I was surprised to find the streets still deserted, although lined with those blue wooden police barricades in anticipation of the parade. There were lots of cops out, and a few kids in uninspired store-bought skeleton and witch costumes, and a few random people, but the crowds were not out in force yet at 6pm. I walked down 6th with Debbie, talking, and realized after a few blocks that half the people I saw, dressed for Halloween, didn't look all that different from the people I usually see in the neighborhood. Heh. Anyway, I went to the market to get things for dinner, and came home and cooked, and we ate dinner and drank wine in the living room, with our lit jack o'lantern in the window, and watched the parade from our warm perch, up high. It passes right by my window, which was quite nice, and I was thankful that I wasn't out there in the crush. By 7pm, the sidewalks were thronged with people, 10 deep, and from the 11th floor you couldn't see any sidewalk at all, just the tops of heads. The downside was that we also couldn't see the details of the costumes, but I was a little disappointed by all the floats that had banners hanging from them, advertising web sites and singles cruises and the like. It gets more commercial every year, and is a far cry from the raucous free for all it used to be. It was quiet again by 11pm, and this morning when I left my apartment, the streets were swept and the barricades were gone.

I'm actually not a big fan of the Halloween costume - I was traumatized as a child. My mother, you see, is way into Halloween, as she is all the holidays. (She bakes a cherry pie on Washington's birthday, I shit you not. Hard to believe I'm her child, isn't it?) So every year of my childhood, she'd dream up elaborate costumes and make them herself. Whatever I wanted to be, she'd find a way to make it. One year, a box of cereal. I think my parents worked for a month on that costume - my Mom found a giant cardboard box, and cut out arm holes and a small, rectangular hole to see out. My dad, who is actually quite talented, painted the box from an actual cereal box (the one with the toucan, for the record) and let me tell you, it was magnificent. An exact replica, an artistic wonder. And also HEAVY. It pressed hard on the top of my head, and the tops of the armholes cut into my shoulders, and while that little rectangular eyehole was aesthetically pleasing, the bouncing that occured while I walked made it quite difficult to see. I won first place in the costume parade that year, but I paid for it.

A few years later, cardboard box trauma forgotten, I decided to be a bag of groceries. Again, my mother rose to the occasion, acquiring a huge brown paper bag (from roll delivery at my uncle's deli), outfitting me in a brown leotard and tights, and stapling empty food containers around the top of the bag, on the inside. Half an egg carton, a milk carton, the front of a cookie box, etc, and in the middle of all this rose my head. And my head couldn't just be a head, then, could it? So it became a cabbage. She pulled my hair back, painted my face green, and CUT THE TOP OFF A CABBAGE. She then strung a piece of elastic through to keep it on me, and placed it atop my head, sending my father running for the camera to take a picture for posterity.

That cabbage hat is what did it, really. Ruined dressing up for me forever. It was so heavy, and the elastic bit into my chin, and it was just all around horrible. I spent the entire evening saying, "No.. don't make me wear the cabbage hat..." while my head rolled around on my neck like one of those bobbing dogs you see in the back windows of Dodge D@rts.

I told my mom about the trauma years later, and we laugh about it now. I tell her she was fulfilling her own competitive needs through me and those costumes, and she protests, "but you WANTED to be a bag of groceries..." Although now she admits she should have just used a few leaves of cabbage attached to a knit hat instead of the actual cabbage. That thing probably reeked by the time I got home from trick or treating, too.

Hope everyone had a happy halloween, anyway.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com