2002-11-26 - 6:53 p.m.

The other night I was walking down the street near my old apartment, and as I approached the skinny guy with the knit cap slouching in the doorway, he murmered, "Rocks? Rocks?" I mean, damn, I know my highlights are all grown out and brassy, and maybe I go out without makeup once in a while, but I didn't realize I looked like I was cruising for crack.

It's been a while, again, since I've been here. I'm still crazy busy at work, I finally spent a weekend in the city, and Jane has been staying with me for the past two nights. Last night we went out to dinner, me and the boyfriend and Jane and our friend Kelly, and we had a few bottles of wine and my favorite lasagna, and all was right with the world. Tomorrow night I'll go out with my old high school guy friends, and then spend Thanksgiving at my parents house. A girls dinner at Patty's new apartment Friday night, and then maybe upstate. And I've been feeling really good lately, and am feeling more social, better than I have in a long time.

And one funny thing happened. Last Friday night I went to dinner at a pizza place, one of the handful that claim the best pizza in NY. Everyone has their personal favorite, and it can be quite a point of contention in conversation. But anyway, the boyfriend hadn't been to one of them, and so we went with a couple of friends, and I was standing in line outside the bathroom there. On the wall directly opposite there are paintings for sale, of the building and the neighborhood, and I stood looking at them, thinking, "Those are just AWFUL. The only reason they're up there is because the artist happens to be the owner of the famous pizzeria. I could paint those." But I didn't say anything about it, see, because I was traumatized by the guy in the bar down south who scolded me for dissing the band. Which, by the way, DID suck. Anyway, I was conscious of it, hearing his rebuke in my mind, so I kept my lip zipped and was reflecting on it when the girl in front of me leaned over and said, "God, these paintings SUCK, don't they?" Ha. I'm home, amongst my people.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com