2002-11-27 - 4:44 p.m.

The big snowstorm the weatherpeople had predicted here, predictably, turned into absolutely nothing. However, people rushed out of the city yesterday just to be safe, 3 or 4 in my office alone, and the subway and the streets are (relatively) empty. I split out of work early and went to the G0urmet G@rage, and there wasn't even a line! Which makes me feel a little more optimistic about the P@th train/transit train combo that I'm about to embark on to get to my parents in NJ. The normal pre-holiday crush of the train, all those people with bags on their shoulders and at their feet, standing crowded into the cars, makes me want to Moo loudly and then glare at everyone in sight. Usually, that is.

But today, my friends, I feel really good. A little tired, a little cigarette hangover, but bouyant and happy and suddenly, unexpectedly, overcome with holiday spirit. How frightening.

I walked home from the subway station today, and as I approached the pet store a man came out, with a little black and white dog on a leash. The dog was carrying a pigs ear in its mouth, and pulled excitedly on the leash in its hurry to get home, occasionally turning around to look at its owner, still clamping that pigs ear, bigger than it's head, in it's teeth. I cracked up, and said something about it to the owner, who laughed and said, "He is SO deliriously happy right now" and I said, yes,I can see that, it's Thanksgiving for him, too, dammit. And I watched the people approaching. And every single one looked at that dog and smiled. No less than 10 people in one block. Which made me happy. As did the red berry wreath outside the porcelain shop, and the sun glinting off the buildings on the east side of the street, and the cold air, and the view out my window when I opened the door to my apartment.

Jane's departure from the tri state area has been delayed, and so she'll be at my parents house with me tonight, and we'll help my mother get ready and then go out to meet the boys for a drink. I spoke to a few of them today, and also to Ellen, who left a message that she'd be in our home town and would join us. And a message from my old dear friend and roommate, on the answering machine. And just now, this very minute, an IM from my internet boyfriend

So I'll stop at the bookstore on the way to the train, and give the owner a big kiss because I love him, and be on my way. I have a lot to be thankful for, is all I'm sayin.

Have a safe and peaceful thanksgiving, all of you.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com