2002-12-14 - 9:59 p.m.

Later - I actually ended up staying home until early afternoon, writing cards and not cleaning the apartment. I took a shower, and then sat down and got sucked into the horrible L1fet1me movie that was on, and I said screw it and took some more motrin and laid on the couch a while.

I finally motivated, went out and got my grandmother a coat in all of 10 minutes, I hope she likes it. My grandmother is 86, as I've mentioned, and she's always wanted a leather coat. This is her year - my parents and I decided to go in on it together, and I found a perfect one on sale, so that was a big thing off my list. I stopped at the grocery store for cookie baking stuff, dropped my bags off at the apartment, then went to the Italian restaurant where my mother inadvertently left her checkbook the other night when we went to dinner. The man handed it to me, and inside the checkbook cover was my GRANDMOTHERS checkbook as well. Luckily, she dropped it in my regular restaurant, so they held onto it for me.

It was drizzling, but not too cold, so I decided to motivate over to Uni0n Square to pick up the boyfriend's big gift - the X B0x. All the geeks in his office have it, don'tcha know, and he mentioned he was thinking about getting one, although he's never done any video gaming before. (video gaming? Is that even what they call it anymore?) Anyway, I know a lot of people are really into it, but I don't personally know any. I got the last one in the place, they got it out of the window for me, and the salesman told me, "This is the last one. The toy store from hell is sold out, too. Be careful when you leave." Then I went to security for a big plastic bag, and there was a man standing there, with a gold tooth and a skullcap, and he smiled and said, "You're gonna have a good time with that" and I said, no, it's for my boyfriend, actually, and both he and they guy bagging it up laughed and protested, "Oh, no, girl, you just made a BIG mistake...you'll never see him now. He might be in the house with you, but you ain't never gonna see him." Heh. I told them I'll just hide the control, no problem.

Came home, cooked dinner, and have been doing a little writing tonight, with the candles burning and the G0dfather saga on TV. And by this evening, it's sweet, the solitude. No cookie baking has yet occurred, and it's a crap shoot, really, if I'll get to it tonight. Made plans to go out to NJ early tomorrow morning (like going to work early) so I can have breakfast with my friend Ken before I meet Karen. I hate feeling like I have to squeeze everyone in - it always feels like hit and run. But this is the last weekend I have before Christmas, so I can only do what I can do. I have a few friends, with kids, that I owe visits to, but you know, I sort of resent that I always have to be the one to make the trip. Just because I'm single doesn't mean I don't have a life, too.

Not that you'd know it, since I'm updating on Saturday night.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com