2003-01-01 - 8:00 p.m.

My Christmas this year was kind of blue. Not in a bad way, really, but kind of blue nonetheless. I found myself, on the grey sleety morning of Christmas, on the NJ turnpike, watching the bare black trees race by with tears running down my face. But that'll be an entry for another time, as right now I'm hunched at the computer, frantically typing this before the boyfriend gets in.

Then we left for the airport the next night, on our way to see my brother and his family. The flight was delayed 6 hours, no sign of relief, and flights were being cancelled all around us, so we bailed and went to collect our luggage. After about an hour and a half, we finally got the bags and got a cab for home. Long story short, they put us on a flight leaving at 10:30 the following night, which was delayed 2 hours, and by the time we landed and got the rental car and got checked in at the hotel, it was close to 4 am. I am NEVER, EVER travelling at Christmas again. I'm writing that here so I can come back and remind myself next year, as apparently travel trauma doesn't stick with me.

It was a short trip, but good, and we played football in the park with my niece and nephew every day. Got home on Monday night, spent Tuesday in my pajamas, only venturing out to the drugstore and later, out for food. We stayed in last night, ordered Indian food and cleaned out our closets and our drawers, drank champagne and watched the Tw1light Z0ne marathon on Sci-Fi. Blissful. At midnight we went and sat on the wide windowsill in the bedroom, and we could see the firewalks in Times Square, bright arcs of color bursting over the rooftops. Pretty cool.

And that was my exciting New Years, and it was just perfect, really.

And today I cleared out, went for brunch with Ellen and to see L0ve, L1za at the Angelik@. Hoffman was amazing, really truly amazing, but the movie, although heavy and close to my heart, left me feeling somehow detached.

We left the movie in the rain and driving wind, umbrellas blowing inside out, and, after finding two wine bars closed, headed back to my neighborhood and went to the C0rneli@ Street C@fe for a glass of wine at the bar. I ran into the woman who works at my bookstore, and we moved over to make room for them at the bar, and sat there in the warm light, with little candles burning in glass cups, and talked about relationships and expectations and delusions, and it was also pretty fucking great. And now it's insanely windy and cold and raining, and I'm back here with my Christmas tree lit and the candles burning. I have a lot to say, really, but this is all I can manage. I think I need a little time with the paper journal first.

Hope everyone's was happy. Mine's starting out pretty good.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com