2003-01-03 - 10:31 a.m.

So, that last post was not indicative of my state of mind, just so you know. It's one that I love, though, and I came across it last night and thought I'd put it up, for posterity.

Yesterday was my first day back at work, and we were told that there would be workmen in the office today, refinishing the wood floors in our office. The holder of all relevant information was my intrepid office manager/hot boy, M@lcolm. (In The Middle, remember?) We come down the metal spiral staircase from the smoking roof, into the reception area, where he's hulking over the curved desk.

MITM: Hey, you guys, you can't come in tomorrow. They're doing the floors on 3.

ME: Cool. Snow day!

MITM: (smiles fetchingly) Yeah. Heh.

We return to our office, and get an email from MITM, stating they're starting at noon. So we, foolishly, decide to try to find out if we can, in fact, come to the office until then. It was an undertaking of immense proportions.

Deb asked him to come down, and he showed up a few minutes later.

D: So what's the deal with tomorrow?

MITM: Well, uh, they're doin the floors tomorrow, and, uh, I needed a weekday and a lot of people are off this week, so I thought it was a good time.

D: Ok, that's fine..but can we come in until 12?

MITM: Well, they're gonna start sanding tomorrow, and the sand gets all over everything, but don't worry, they'll cover all your stuff with plastic and box up the showroom

ME: Ok, M@lcolm, we get it, but will we be able to WORK, or are they going to start earlier than 12?

MITM: Uh, they're gonna start tomorrow. I'm sorry if this is a inconvenience to you, but this was the only time we could do it..

DEB: But, see, your email says they're starting at noon. Is that right?

MITM: Well, they're coming tonight to start tapin shit up....

God DAMN he's frustrating. It's like he's having a completely separate conversation than the one you're trying to have. And honestly, I don't care how hot he is. He's got to go.

Anyway, the result is that it's 10:30 on a wet and dreary Friday, and I'm sitting at my desk at home in my pajamas, reading journals and half heartedly checking work email. I'm going to have a late breakfast with Deb, and will drop off my dry cleaning, and possibly return the ton of stuff I need to return from Christmas, and finally drop off those bags to the SA.

(An embarrassing confession: this year, I walked past a small group of SA representatives standing on a corner, singing. As I waited for the light to change, I heard that they were singing Christian hymns, and I turned to my friend and said, "I didn't realize they were a Christian group!" And she said, "Who?" And I started to say, "The Salvation Ar...." Duh. The Salvation Army. I'm so stupid sometimes.)

Or maybe I'll scrap all of that and stay here all day in my pjs. Be back later.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com